Employment Law Alliance Webinar: The Implications of Brexit

Date: 14th June 2017

Location: Webinar

What Does It Mean for Businesses in the UK and across the EU?

It’s nearly a year since the UK voted to leave the EU, and in March 2017 the UK formally triggered a 2 year exit negotiation under Article 50 of the EU Lisbon Treaty. The negotiations will no doubt be difficult and we do not yet know what (if any) “deal” will be done. However, we can expect substantial changes to the UK’s relationship with the EU and the employment landscape; in particular, the UK has said there will be changes to the rights of EU citizens to live and work in the UK (and the rights of UK citizens to live and work across the EU) and the UK will have the freedom to determine its own laws (including employment laws) without answering to the European Court of Justice. These changes will have a direct impact on businesses operating both in the UK and the wider EU.

Experienced legal counsel from the UK, France, Switzerland, Ireland and Belgium will provide practical insight on what Brexit may mean and how companies can prepare for the changes:

  • What happens to EU citizens already working in the UK and UK citizens already working across the EU?
  • What happens in future if an employer in the UK wants to hire an EU citizen (and vice versa)?
  • Will the UK take the opportunity to reform its employment laws once it is free of EU law?
  • How will the UK’s only land border with the EU (between Northern Ireland and Ireland) be handled?
  • What can we learn from Switzerland’s experience (as a non member of the EU)?
  • Which industries might be most impacted (e.g. financial services) and will international businesses relocate from the UK to another EU member state?

Who Should Attend?

The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms. The information presented will be of particular interest to In-house Counsel, Human Resources Professionals and Corporate Executives, and Business Owners.

Register

Click here to register, and then click the “register” link to the right of the title. Please be sure to confirm the corresponding start time in your local time zone.

4:00pm–5:15pm CET
11:00am–12:15pm EDT
10:00am–11:15am CDT
9:00am–10:15am MDT
8:00am–9:15am PDT

About the Employment Law Alliance

The Employment Law Alliance is the most comprehensive network of labor and employment attorneys in the world. Our members provide employment, labor, and immigration expertise in more than 120 countries around the globe, all 50 U.S. states, and all 10 Canadian provinces. They work closely together to ensure that their clients’ legal matters are handled seamlessly wherever they do business. We provide a smarter, more efficient and effective alternative to using a single multi-state or multi– national law firm. For more information about the ELA, please visit: www.employmentlawalliance.com.

GVZH Advocates is a member of the ELA. For information on how GVZH Advocates can assist you with your Employment and Industrial Relations legal requirements, kindly contact us here.

Print this Page